

## 2009 STAR MAZDA CHAMPION ADAM CHRISTODOULOU CO-DRIVES LAPIDUS MCLAREN TO FIRST 24 HOUR VICTORY FOR THE MARQUE SINCE OVERALL LE MANS WIN IN 1995

McLaren's MP4-12C scored its first-ever 24-hour victory, with Lapidus Racing taking the mid-engined sports car to a dominant win in the 15th running of the 24 Hours of Barcelona.



Adam Christodoulou, the 2009 champion in the Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear, along with teammates Tim Mullen, Phil Quaife and Klaas Hummel enjoyed an up-and-down around-the-clock battle at Circuit de Catalunya, with the McLaren stretching out to a 12-lap lead at the halfway point. However, a lengthy stop to replace a turbocharger wastegate <u>cost</u> the quartet 19 laps overnight.

Down but not out, the McLaren rejoined in third overall and clawed back into the lead,

despite suffering a collision with a BMW 123D just prior to sunrise.

The Lapidus machine ended up taking a four-lap victory over the Russian Bears Motorsport Ferrari F458 Italia, the only other GT3-spec <u>car</u> entered in the 51-car starting field. And despite their mid-race issues, the winning entry logged more than 1,800 miles.

It marked the first 24-hour victory for a McLaren since its outright win in the 24 Hour of Le Mans in 1995.

Christodoulou began his career in single seater racing in the Formula Renault series, moving up to the British Formula Renault Championship for 2008 where he won the championship with with 7 wins, 4 new

lap records and 11 podium finishes. In December 2008 he was one of six finalists for the prestigious McLaren Autosport BRDC Award, and won the Autosport Awards British Club Driver 2008. In 2009, Christodoulou competed in the Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear and again took the championship, with 3 wins and 9 podium Finishes. In 2010, with scholarship funding from the Mazda



Motorsports Driver Development Ladder (the precursor to the Mazda Road to Indy), he moved up to race in the Rolex Sports Car Series GT class for Newman Wachs Racing with co-driver John Edwards, the 2008 Star Mazda Champion. In 2011 he returned to Europe to begin racing for McLaren in the GT class.

